>  FTA in Your State
Copyright 2012-15 - Fur Takers of America
All Rights Reserved
SUPPORT FTA
EDUCATION
FTA Alert System
Our FTA Online Alert System works much the same way as our e-mail system in that it is designed to provide trappers with the most current updates and information regarding events and legislation.
To provide you with this information, the FTA works hand-in-hand with the U.S. Sportsmen's Alliance.
Visit the U.S. Sportsmen's Alliance website to determine which issues are currently facing each state.
The Fur Takers of America is a national organization of trappers and fur hunters. In June of 2013, at our Governing Board meeting, a resolution was passed that completely supported the concept of “Reciprocity” when it relates to non-resident trapping. There were many reasons for this position, but in a nutshell, the FTA doesn’t support any regulation that restricts trapping and trapping access, unless the resource of furbearers is somehow put at risk by not having a restriction.

The FTA respects the democratic process, and respects the decision of the Fur Taker Chapter in North Dakota to work for their wishes in that democratic process, but in this case, the national organization, based on the previous resolution passed by the board, is not in favor of the proposed restrictions on non-resident trappers.


Further clarification of the various reasons would include, but are not limited to, the following ideas:

--The Fur Takers of America works diligently to increase and enhance trapping opportunities across the country, and we see the proposed restrictions as contrary to that goal.

--With the number of non-resident trapping permits sold in 2014 in North Dakota being, on average, far less than a hundred, the scope of the resolution being considered is out of proportion with the degree of the problem.

--With constant and unceasing efforts of animal rights activists to put an end to trapping everywhere in the country, a resolution that puts trapper against trapper may fit the “divide and conquer” strategy and leave states like North Dakota vulnerable to attack.

--By limiting non-residents in a fairly severe way, the whole principal of reciprocity may be at risk. Trappers living in North Dakota may someday be surprised if they opt to trap in another state, but find they can’t do so because ND regulations have altered the parity of reciprocal opportunity.


Respectfully,
Charles Andres, President
Fur Takers of America
FTA Takes Stand on North Dakota Legislation
North Dakota Legislators on Natural Resources Committee

Phone: leave a message with the legislative telephone message center at 1-888-NDLEGIS (635-3447)

Chairman
Representative Chuck Damschen ..... cdamschen@nd.gov
Vice Chairman
Senator Layton Freborg ..........................................info not available
Legislative Members
Representative Dick Anderson ............... dickanderson@nd.gov
Representative Mike D. Brandenburg .... mbrandenburg@nd.gov
Representative Duane DeKrey............................... info not available
Representative David Drovdal................................ info not available
Representative Lyle Hanson................................... info not available
Representative Curt Hofstad .................chofstad@nd.gov
Representative Bob Hunskor .................bhunskor@nd.gov
Representative Scot Kelsh .......................................info not available
Representative Mike Nathe ....................mrnathe@nd.gov
Representative David S. Rust..................drust@nd.gov
Representative Vicky Steiner .................vsteiner@nd.gov
Senator Bill L. Bowman .........................bbowman@nd.gov
Senator Randall A. Burckhard.................raburckhard@nd.gov
Senator Robert Erbele..............................rerbele@nd.gov
Senator Oley Larsen.................................olarsen@nd.gov
Senator Philip M. Murphy.......................pmmurphy@nd.gov
Senator Connie Triplett...........................ctriplett@nd.gov
aaaaaaaaaaaaiii