>  FTA in Your State

News & Media

Copyright 2012-18 Fur Takers of America
All Rights Reserved
1974 John Parker AZ
1975 George Liljestrand MN
1976 Raymond Thompson WA
1977 Ed Marks NJ
1978 Frank Terry CA
1979 Ben Sudul OR
1980 Joe Tennyson MS
1981 J. C. Woodard OH
1982 Wilbert Pierce ND
1983 Tom Landers KY
1984 Louis Krumwiede IL
1985 Milt Wernsman IL
1986 Red Edgemon TN
1987 Omar Shipley MO
1988 Don Nichols OR
1989 Ivan & Connie White NE
1990 Charles Park IN
1991 Kermit Sterns PA
1992 Pete Rickard NY
1993 Tom Wright SR IL
1994 Red Edgemon TN
1995 Pete Askins PA
1996 Gary Jepson ND
1997 Charles Andres IN
1998 Charles Dobbins OH
1999 Tom Hammond IL
1999 Dean Mitchell IA
2000 Ron Cauble IN
2000 Robert (Hawk) Hassfuther IN
2001 James Lee KY
2001 Roy Greenfield NE
2002 Jerry Hall SR KY
2002 Jerry Joe Barnett IN
2003 Wally Schmieg MO
2003 Ron & Pete Leggett MD
2004 Dave Hastings NE
2004 Kenneth Jones TN
2005 Gary Armstrong IL
2005 Dorothy Lee KY
2006 Elliot Murdock IN
2006 Ed & Mary Helterbrand MO
2007 John Wilson IL
2007 Dave Plueger IA
2007 Robert Wilson MO
2008 Major Boddicker CO
2008 Paul Brown KY
2008 Ken & Elaine Schwarzhoff IA
2009 Irv Schirmer IL
2009 Jim Mahoney IN
2010 Tom Fisher
2010 Joe Papa
2011 Larry (Doc) Green
2011 Bennie Bailey
2012 Gary Isbell
2012 Carol Krumwiede
2013 Gene Beeber KY
2013 Charlie Masheck IN
2014 Ardel Grawe ND
2014 Owen Hall IA
2015 Art Scott OH
2015 Tom Dearmont NE
2017 GenePurdy
2017 Tim Julien
FTA Hall Of Fame
 Dawn Reding, Ph.D. Iowa State and others have published the findings of a multi-year project. Read the complete paperwork at the links below.
Genetic Differentiation in the Bobcat
2012 Bobcat Genetics Summary
Research on Bobcat Genetics
Trapping and Furbearer Management in North American Wildlife Conservation

This work was published in March 2015 by the International Journal of Environmental Studies and authored by the U.S. Government. The complete text can be viewed on our website.
click to view


To celebrate the Golden anniversary of the FTA, we will be creating the Christmas Fur Blanket with fur from all around the country. It would be great if all chapters and affiliates are included. We ask that each send in one TANNED fur of their choice to be included in the Christmas Blanket. A weasel, Lynx, Muskrat or Beaver, any fur will be great to include. Identify the fur by making on hide side with your chapter or affiliate and send it in. Ship to Jeff Dunnier, Ron Peters, Dan Gates or Tim Julien (addresses and contact information are included in the Fur Taker). You may also bring with you to the national convention in June in Iowa. We will be shipping for final production immediately after the convention so please don’t wait. We really would like to have everyone included in this project.

Park Memorial Scholarship
The Charles & Pat Park Memorial Scholarship was created to provide financial support to an individual to attend the Fur Takers of America Trappers College. The hope is to raise enough money to make the scholarship an annual scholarship.
Charles was a founding father of the Trappers College and a Director for 25 years. Pat played a significant position in the college as well, as she took the reservations for many years and communicated with the trappers as they prepared to attend.
As family continues to grieve the loss of these two great individuals, we invite you to make donations to the memorial scholarship fund to carry on the impact Charles and Pat made on the Fur Takers Family.
Information referencing the scholarship application will be published in the upcoming months.
Send donations to: FTA Trappers College, PO Box 51, LaGrange, IN 46761. Please clearly note this donation is for the Park Memorial Scholarship.